Maryland Department of Natural Resources

MGS Staff Directory

Name Telephone
E-mail
Administration
Richard A. Ortt, Jr., Director (410) 554-5503 richard.ortt@maryland.gov
Tina Williams, Administrative Officer (410) 554-5511 tina.williams3@maryland.gov
Public Information, Publications, and Library Services (410) 554-5505 dale.shelton@maryland.gov
Glen Shinholt, Maintenance Engineer (410) 554-5564 glen.shinholt@maryland.gov
Coastal and Environmental Geology Program
Stephen Van Ryswick, Chief (410) 554-5544 stephen.vanryswick@maryland.gov
Rebecca H. Kavage Adams, Geologist (410) 554-5553 rebecca.adams@maryland.gov
Dr. David K. Brezinski, Geologist (410) 554-5526 david.brezinski@maryland.gov
Christopher Connallon, Geologist (410) 554-5541 christopher.connallon@maryland.gov
Anna Gillmor, Geochemist (410) 554-5518 anna.gillmor@maryland.gov
Will Junkin, Geologist (410) 554-5543 william.junkin@maryland.gov
Bryan Nicholson, Geologist (410) 554-5545 bryan.nicholson@maryland.gov
Dale W. Shelton, Education Specialist/Geologist (410) 554-5505 dale.shelton@maryland.gov
Hydrogeology and Hydrology Program
Andrew Staley, Acting Chief (410) 260-8818 andrew.staley@maryland.gov
David C. Andreasen, (Retired Chief, Volunteer) ------ david.andreasen@maryland.gov
Dr. Emelia Furlong, Hydrogeologist (410) 554-5556 emeliaa.furlong@maryland.gov
Johanna Gemperline, Hydrogeologist (410) 554-5552 johanna.gemperline@maryland.gov
Isabel Glasman, Conservation Associate (443) 743-3011 isabel.glasman@maryland.gov
Heather Quinn, Geologist (410) 554-5522 heather.quinn@maryland.gov
Thomas Ulizio, Geologist (410) 554-5560 thomas.ulizo@maryland.gov
Annapolis (Tawes B-3) Lab Office (410) 260-8816
Support Services
SECURITY OFFICER (410) 554-5508 — —
MGS FAX NUMBER (410) 554-5502 — —
Maryland Geological Survey 2018:
Front Row (left to right): Darlene Wells (retired), Johanna Gemperline, Dave Bolton (retired), Jon Achmad (retired), Isabel Glasman.
2nd Row (left to right): Bryan Nicholson, Rebecca Kavage Adams, Anna Gillmor, David Andreasen (retired), Tiffany VanDerwerker (no longer with the Survey).
3rd Row (left to right): Rich Ortt (Director), Andy Staley, Stephen Van Ryswick, Katie Knippler (no longer with the Survey), Tina Williams.
Back Row (left to right): Chris Connallon, Dale Shelton, Heather Quinn, Jeff Halka (Director Emeritus), Bruce Michael (Director, DNR Resource Assessment Service).
Not pictured: David Brezinski, Emelia Furlong, Will Junkin, Beth Sylvia, Thomas Ulizio, and Glen Shinholt

See an interactive display of MGS staff over the years